What .17 caliber rifle to get?

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by TeamCatHazzard, Apr 12, 2006.

1. TeamCatHazzard

TeamCatHazzard New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I am looking to get a .17 cal rifle within the next few months and was wondering what everyone has for one and if you like it or what you would recommend. I really dont wanna spend a lot on it because I just want it to mess around with so im looking around a couple hundred bucks for the gun. Also what is the difference between the .17 Hmr and .17 mach2? Just curious any help would be appreciated!

2. triggerhappy

triggerhappy New Member

State:
    IL
    The hmr starts out at about 2500fps whereas the mach 2 sits around 2100fps. I'll leave to rest to someone who actually has one, because I've no first-hand experience.

3. MilwaukeeCatHunter

MilwaukeeCatHunter New Member

State:
    Wisconsin
    Check out Savage Arms/Stevens. IMHO, their rifles are pretty good for the money. They also have package deals where you can get the rifle and scope. My brother in law has a 17 HMR Savage (not sure of model number) and it is a fun, reliable rifle.

I think the difference between the HMR and the Mach 2 is about the same difference between a 22 magnum and a 22 LR. (in very general terms) The HMR goes farther and shoots flatter. The Mach 2 is not intended for long distance shooting. As far as popularity, I think the HMR is a top seller.

4. onlyone

onlyone New Member

State:
    SE Kansas
    Well to start the .17 HMR is rated at 2550 fps while the HM2 is around 2100. I have a Marlin 917V in 17 HMR and I love it. I gave $250 for it and it is by far the most accurate gun I've ever shot-- about 1/2" groups at 75 yards. I have a BSA 3-10x44 on it and I like that too. I havent shot any other 17's but I think Savage makes pretty much the same as marlin.

5. citori59

citori59 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvania