Wet the Line?

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by rks1949, Jul 16, 2009.

1. rks1949

rks1949 New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I'm new to using braided line (power pro) and was told to let all the line out,and get it wet "before" using it for fishing. I was also told it would "dig" into the line on the spool if I didn't do this first. Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Ron

2. bedbug jr

bedbug jr New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Welcome to the BOC Ron, sorry I can't help you with the braid question as I don't use it, but you'll find many on here that can and will. This is one great site for information and these guys know their tried and true stuff. Stay safe and good fishing!!!:wink:

3. plainsman

plainsman New Member Supporting Member

State:
    minnesota
    I've heard to wet the line for easier casting, but not sure it applies to braid.

4. TITANSFAN2104

TITANSFAN2104 New Member

State:
    Smith county TN
    the tighter you can get brad spooled he better and yes many people also wetting the line as its spooled!! either spool and use your boat to let your line out or tie a big float and chunk it out in the river with no hook in current ant the reistance of the big float will give you good pressure to reel against!! jeff williams at team catfish has some vieos where he talks about spooling braid!! search his videos on his site @ www.teamcatfish.com

5. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO
    It's 6 one way and 6 the other. I have done both with the same results. The most important thing is get the line on the spool as tight as you can. Some say use backing I don't and it works just fine.

6. rks1949

rks1949 New Member

State:
    Illinois
    Thanks,guy's!:big_smile: I'll let it drift out in the morning before I go fishing at the river. Ron

7. andrew76

andrew76 New Member

State:
    southwest ohio