Weight for Colorado river?

Discussion in 'CALIFORNIA RIVERS TALK' started by curtis, Apr 22, 2006.

1. curtis

curtis New Member

State:
    california
    i posted a comment earlier and the replies were great. but i need more info. what weight should i use for the colorado river? what rig? i really want to do it up this time seeing that it is my 23rd birthday.i want to use chicken liver, because i heard it works great in the area that i am at.live bait i will try but i am taking lots of people and lots of poles. they all look to me for fishing knowledge and i have lots of ideas. i have been fishing for about three years, and it is my life now. i still have alot to learn and would like some advise on this topic. thanks

2. ersel

ersel New Member

State:
    Haughton Louisiana
    I would use different rigs,bait,depths and weights until I found what works in your area. I fish the Red River and use different rigs at different locations on the river. Alot of the fun for me is the experimenting. I spend alot of time on the site seeing what other people are doing.

3. riverbud55

riverbud55 Well-Known Member

State:
    AZ Topock-/CA Riverside
    Name:
    Dale Miller
    curtis welcome to the BOC as burt and phil said the goldfish are all good on the colorado river, try to the biggest you can get, if ya got time catch you some tallapia , blue gill, or some small carp for the best live bait and hooked with a 8/0 GAMAKATSU OCTOPUS NICKEL hooks, for some 60lb flatheads, for the channels get some uncooked frozen shrimp from the store and put it on a 5/0 bait holder hook always been my favorite down there also get some hog wild super sticky blood dip bait and some hog wild bait dipper catfish worms for holden the worms you can get the stuff from wal-mart. For sinkers get some 2oz or 3oz flat no roll slip sinkers set above a heavy swivel curtis make sure you have the colorado river stamp and you can use 2 rods if you get you a 2 pole stamp