Weather/water/solunar affects on flathead catfish feeding

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by walexa07, Nov 8, 2005.

1. walexa07

walexa07 New Member

State:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    Hey guys. I've been fishing for flatheads for a few years now and am looking for some info regarding weather/water/solunar effects on the fish feeding. We use limb lines with live bait. It's truly amazing how 2 trips can be so different.

We went on October 21st and 22nd on the Ouachita river above Columbia, La, and had a fantastic weekend. Three 25 pound flatheads, one 21 pound flathead, an 8, 7, and 5 pound blue. What was better than what we caught was what we missed. Over the course of 2 nights we had at least 8 hooks opened up, some more severely than others. We were primarily using Mustad stainless 10/0 J hooks. Never had that many hooks opened up on one trip.........we had 20 hooks one night and 23 hooks out the next night.

We went this last weekend, November 4th and 5th, same type bait, same locations, and absolutely nothing. Besides turtles cleaning bait off hooks during the day, we had no action.

Comparing the trip a couple weekends ago to our most recent trip, the water conditions seemed identical.........little to no current because of no rain, but we had a cold snap for over a week and the water temp did drop some. Other than that, we were close to a full moon the first trip and right after the new moon for the last trip. I do not know what the barometric pressure or trends were during either trip.

I realize that it is best to go when you can, but we put alot of time, money, and effort into these camping/fishing trips. It can be alot of work trying to come up with 30 baitfish per night, plus all the fuel for the generator and boat, as well as gathering firewood, packing the camper, buying groceries, etc. I don't mind the cost, but am interested in your experiences to try and reduce the number of times we get all geared up for a no-show.

Waylan

2. wolfman