WD-40...Hazard to our Youth and fishing?!?!?!

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by channelcat_tracker, Jun 21, 2006.

1. channelcat_tracker

channelcat_tracker New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Now I have NEVER used this before. I have sat next to other bank fisherman, when neither of us got any bites for about a half hour to an hour, they have pulled out a small can of WD-40 and sprayed some on their bait, flung it out, and waited for about 5 to 10 minutes and then set the hook on catfish well over 10 pounds. Now they tell me that I should try it and Ive given considerable amount of thought into it and now I know whats wrong with it. ITS FREAKING PETROLIEUM BASE!!!!!!!! that means, that people swim in the mississippi with no problems but yet theirs a bunch of crap in the water. And once you throw in petroleum, that just adds more and more pollution to the water. Dont these fisherman think abou tthe kids in the future?!?!?! because if they keep putting in more pollution at a rising spand then they might as well forget about the future because soon the rivers will be hazardous to swim in and then we cant even fish. Wow I thought these fishermen were here to set a good example instead of showing us wrong. This makes me sick!!!!!:angry: Wow I thought some people were better than I expected!

2. Ol Man

Ol Man New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I agree with you Tony and I also have never used it. Another thing I wonder about is, have you ever noticed the oil/fuel slick around some of these various boat motors? Is that also contributing to the pollution of our waters? Pollution may fall into the category of what ones definition of "is", is...:confused2:

3. catfishkatmando

catfishkatmando New Member

State:
    Salem, WV.