Waxahachie Lake

Discussion in 'LOCAL TEXAS TALK' started by BW94, May 30, 2007.

1. BW94

BW94 New Member

State:
    Texas
    Hi Ya'll, I'm new to the Boc. What a great site. I was wondering if anyone out there might know of any good catfishing spots in Waxahachie Lake. Thanks and catch one for me, BW94

2. chuck7700

chuck7700 New Member

State:
    Coppell, TX.
    i used to sneak behind the spillway. theres a big deep blue hole, just crammed full of all kinds of fish. i used crawfish, minnows, shrimp and worms. the fish hit everything.

3. Cat Hunter

Cat Hunter New Member

State:
    texas
    I am from Red Oak and I have never really had much luck on Waxahachie. I know they have that fishing tournment out there but no one has ever really caught anything big.

4. bobby-catfishing

bobby-catfishing New Member

State:
    Highland Villag
    Billy,
    I've never fished the lake but can offer you some good advice on locating cats. I took a look at an aerial image of Lake Waxahachie. I would focus my efforts along the north shore line with a predominant Southeast wind blowing. It looks like there are some retaining walls along the north shore. These are good places to start if the wind is blowing on them. Baitfish will concentrate in these areas. Also try the shallow points as well. Anchor the boat about 20 yards out from the area you will be casting to. Use a good punch bait such as Danny King's or cut shad on a 3/4 oz. carolina rig with an 8"-12" leader. Cast as close as you can to the retaining wall and up against any vegetation or brush. I prefer to hold the rod as opposed to using a rod holder. Sometimes the cats will hit really light. Set the hook on any little bite. If the fish hits twice, you're too late. The first hit was the bite, the second was him spitting it out. Hope this helps.

5. CNTRYBOY

CNTRYBOY New Member

State:
    Benton, Ar
    Billy, welcome to the BOC! You will love it here. Check out the library on here for some great information!