Water pump replacement on '84 Merc 150

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by Mid-MO fisherman, Apr 11, 2006.

1. Mid-MO fisherman

Mid-MO fisherman New Member

State:
    Jefferson City, Mo
    I am kind of new to boating but am an average mechanic. There arent too many thing i am afraid of tackleling. I was wondering how hard it is to replace the water pump on this motor. Have heard that it isnt too difficult. I just bought the boat in Oct. '05 and have no idea when it was replaced last. Want to go ahead and do it just to be on the safe side. I have heard enough horror stories that i definately dont want to wait until it is too late. Any help is greatly appreciated in advance.

2. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    Andy its not to hard to change out the water pump. If you have a manuel for that engine it helps a lot. Drop the lower unit and it exposes the water pump.
    You can go down to the library and they will most likely have a book on that engine.
    Its not all that hard though.

3. Mid-MO fisherman

State:
    Jefferson City, Mo
    Thanks alot. I will definately do that. I am fairly new to the site and my wife is starting to call me an addict. It is very easy to spend a couple of hours reading all of the interesting info on this site.

4. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    Andy, that's a couple hours for several months. Now if you want to go into reading the BS too, that'll take several yrs.

What I'm saying is, if you want clean oats, go out and buy them. If you want some oats that've been run through the horse, then this is the place to be.

5. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    I hear what you are saying there.:) My wife calles me a whole lot of other things to.