Want to learn to Catfish on Lake Murray

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by LUV DEM TIGERS, May 12, 2009.

1. LUV DEM TIGERS

LUV DEM TIGERS New Member

State:
    SC
    I am a newbie on here and I grew up pond fishing for cats. Basically using chicken livers and just casting out and waiting. But now I want to be able to take my son and want to do it on Lake Murray.

1. What type of bait do you use?

2. Where do you generally get that type of bait? (I live in Irmo and will be fishing on that side).

3. How do you fish that bait?

4. What type of hook do you use?

5. Of course, I grew up night fishing, but what time of day is best for catching cats?

6. What areas do I look for to fish?

Thanks for any help you guys can offer.

2. Jollymon

Jollymon Well-Known Member

State:
    Wilm .N.C
    Craig welcome to the BOC ,from N.C. ask an u will recieve the info u seek

3. Bill in SC

Bill in SC New Member

State:
    South Caro
    Welcome to the BOC, but I only speak Gamecock!!!!!!!!!!! LOL! Seriously, just keep browsing around and you can find the answers to ALL your questions. I don't fish Murrray so I wouldn't be much help. Check out the BOC library for many of the answers to your questions.

Bill in SC

4. SC Backwoods Baitman

SC Backwoods Baitman New Member

State:
    Union,South Carolina
    Welcome to the BOC. I'm not an expert on Murray But there are alot of baits that will produce fish.
    1. Shad,Herring,Lucky shrimp,Perch to name a few.
    2. The PDQ on the way to the lake is carrying bait.
    3.You can fish anchored or you can drift for them. drifting will allow you to cover more ground and increase your odds for finding the fish. For this you will need a drift sock or a couple of 5 gallon buckets will do the same thing.
    4.I am a firm believer in the circle hook. when the fish bites and runs off they tend to hang themselves. they do increase the number of fish hook ups.