Want to catch some flats or blues

Discussion in 'LOCAL NORTH CAROLINA TALK' started by flathead33, Dec 15, 2008.

1. flathead33

flathead33 New Member

State:
    NC
    I am new to the Clayton NC area. I have always fished the santee or lake murray in sc. I just want to know some of the best spots to target the blues or flats in this area. I know the neuse is good but what other lakes are decent in the area for trophy blues? Any in Jordan lake?
    Thanks
    Tony

2. Leftenant

Leftenant New Member

State:
    NC
    Try Kerr Lake for great winter time Blues. Real quality fish and a great year around fishery. In the Spring and Summer, the head waters produce awesome Flatheads if you have a boat that can navigate them. The lake can be treacherous, so if you come up, buy a map and take your time to get to know where you are at. If you have fished Santee, you know all about submerged trees and stumps. The same applies on the upper end of this lake along with rock piles and sand bars. Tight Lines!!!!!!!!!!

3. flathead33

flathead33 New Member

State:
    NC
    yeah I heard kerr lake is great for the cats.. Yeah those trees can mess you up especially trying to navigate at night which is when I normally go for the big ones. Have you fished the Neuse river at all? I heard its loaded with flats and the blues are in there also.
    Thanks
    Tony

4. joe0580

joe0580 New Member

State:
    north carolina
    what til spring and when the shad start to run i will post and come down. i catch us bait and we can fish. really nice blues. a lot over 40lbs.

5. screamin clicker

screamin clicker New Member

State:
    Burlington North Carolina
    Thats exactly right, lots of nice fish in there, to go along with the obstacles just under the water at the flats area... come on up catch some bait and take it easy if you get within a mile of the head waters ( splits ) if the water is down much below 300 !! and good luck

6. flathead33

flathead33 New Member

State:
    NC