Wanna Be's - How do I keep my fishing hole to myself?

Discussion in 'LOCAL IOWA TALK' started by thegavel, Jun 8, 2006.

1. thegavel

thegavel New Member

State:
    West Des Moines, Iowa
    When I catch a large flathead or a nice stringer, I am almost afraid to talk about it. I have had a lot of experiences of people flooding my favorite fishing holes and pushing me out as a result of me telling people about my catch. Honestly, sometimes it is nice to show boat a little, but it always seems to backfire on me. I am not a pampous @$$, but I would like to be able to fish my traditional spots.

I am an experienced angler with a lot of knowledge and love to share stories, teach people what I know, and get them to feel the addiction that Cat Fishing is, but does anyone have any ideas as to how I can stop the flooding?

2. meat_hunter

meat_hunter New Member

State:
    Clarksville, TN
    i agree!! and people should have the decency to not be rude. and show a lil courtesy.

3. shotdemducks

shotdemducks New Member

State:
    kansas
    My dad told me it is my life motto: THE ONLY WAY THREE PEOPLE CAN KEEP A SECRET IS IF TWO OF THEM ARE DEAD! My advise take pics some them, and the where did you catch (?), the water of course:cool2:

4. crusinman2002

crusinman2002 New Member

State:
    Mukwonago, Wisconsin
    i say to just keep your holes secret... if you tell one person, they will tell 2 people and so on and so fourth... if you are going to share your hole with someone, make sure they are a close friend and let them know that you don't want any more people to know where the hole is... that way, your friend feels special that you told him and want to keep the hole secret... but then after a while he will tell someone else too... its just the way it happens... lol

5. knapperheadmatt

knapperheadmatt New Member

State:
    texas
    we call those people " pot lickers"
    matt

6. worm

worm New Member

State:
    missouri