Using Screws in Fiber Glass

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by BigCatSteve, Jun 4, 2006.

1. BigCatSteve

BigCatSteve New Member

State:
    Huber Heights,Ohio
    While getting ready to repair a hole in my and Nate's boat i saw that the floor is fiberglass there are two soft spots in the floor and i was going to repair the holes by covering it with 3/4" treating plywood. I was goint to cover the wood with indoor/outdoor carpet and screw the wood right into the fiberglass.What i need to know is does anyone know if that will work ok or would the fiberglass crack and make it weaker??

2. flaboy

flaboy New Member

State:
    Wedgefield, SC
    steve, it has been my experience that screws don't hold well in fiberglass! if you can't bolt it, or put wood backing for the screw, however if the wood backing rots, the screw is loose again. if you can fiberglass it in place you will have the best setup! in my opinion. I'm not a expert tho.:embarassed:

3. Doyle

Doyle New Member

State:
    Illinois
    That floor is pretty thin for fastening too, I would think. I put a screw 1/2 inch long to hold my pump and I punched through.

4. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho