Using a float for catfish

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by deepwater, Mar 4, 2006.

1. deepwater

deepwater New Member

State:
    tennessee
    Im new to BOC. I usually tight line for flaheads but was wondering how using a float would work. Maybe a slip float?

2. jason454ci

jason454ci Active Member

State:
    Zanesville, Ohi
    I have had sucess using a slip float setup in lakes. They are not always just laying around on the bottom.

3. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan
    I catch most of my flatheads under a slip float.

4. dinkbuster1

dinkbuster1 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    if im lake fishing out of a boat i always use a float. i like using floats when boating in rivers too if the current is slack or slow enough. i honestly beleive they feed like crappie and are always looking up. look at their eyes on top of their head and the protruding lower jaw. the design of their head doesnt fit a bottom feeders profile, where a blue, channel, sucker, carp, or quilback does. if there is moderate to heavy current they keep close to the bottom looking for shad, suckers, quilback, etc. but if there is little to no current i beleive they go in search of gills, bass, crappie, etc that are hiding along the banks and overhanging brush. of course if its shallow enough, say 5ft or less, they are gonna smell or feel a strugling bait anyways, float or on bottom.

5. WylieCat

WylieCat Well-Known Member

State:
    NC
    In the summer when I fish the 2-3 feet shallows from the boat at night I use a lighted bobber. I throw some on the bottom, but I have caught as many fish on the bobbers as on the bottom. It is really cool seeing that little red light disappear underwater!!!

6. catter5000

catter5000 New Member

State:
    TULSA,OK