Using A Cast Net

Discussion in 'INDIANA RIVERS TALK' started by IndyMedicGuy, May 29, 2008.

1. IndyMedicGuy

IndyMedicGuy New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I went and bought a cast net. I have never used one but am going to learn. Are there any tips or tricks to using them? Mine is a 5ft radius 3/8" mesh. Also I do not have a boat so are there ways to still catch shad from the bank or will my net sit idle until somehow I get a boat? Where are the best places to find shad. Are there any legal issues on how, where, and when on using a cast net? I am new to this so any info provided is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. neocats

neocats New Member

State:
    Steubenvil

3. IndyMedicGuy

IndyMedicGuy New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Thanks for the link I will start practicing I am sure it is much harder than it looks lol.

4. Flootie16

Flootie16 New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Look for breaks in the current off of points, sometimes the shad will stack up on places like that. And boat ramps, I always seem to catch a lot of bait off of boat ramps when I am throwing from the bank

5. ironcat

ironcat New Member

State:
    indiana
    if you live buy any spillways try there. I have all my luck at the spillways!!

6. coondog east fork

coondog east fork New Member

State:
    IND
    I got about 800 to 1000 shad the other day at salt creek reservoir at monroe spillway with a net off the bank some of the shad was big I got 10 or 12 of them around 14 to 15 inchs long most was about 4 or 5 inchs hope this helps

7. shadgut

shadgut New Member

State:
    camby, indiana
    be sure to throw it where u know u will not get snagged up, i have already lost 3 nets this year. i always catch my bait with a net and seem 2 have luck in fast moven shallow current. look 4 grass suckers hang there and are good flatty bait. u will catch more fish if u can learn 2 get your bait from the river.

8. bigcatkev

bigcatkev New Member

State:
    indiana