Upper Salt River is hot

Discussion in 'ARIZONA RIVERS TALK' started by AZ RIVERMAN, May 18, 2008.

1. AZ RIVERMAN

AZ RIVERMAN New Member

State:
    ARIZONA
    I'VE BEEN FISHING THE UPPER SALT RIVER FOR ABOUT TWELVE YEARS NOW AND THE SWITCH HAS JUST TURNED ON!! THE WATER TEMP IS PERFECT FOR EASY LIMITS. IT IS NOT UNCOMMON FOR MY BUDDY AND I TO LEAVE WITH FIFTY CATS IN A SIX HOUR PERIOD. AVAREGE TWO POUNDS....SEVERAL FIVE AND UP.....ALWAYS A FEW TEN AND UP, AND AT LEAST A COUPLE 40+ # FLATHEADS A SUMMER. YOU HAVE TO KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING.......NOT JUST ANY RIGGING AND LOCATION WILL GET YOU NUMBERS.

2. AZflats

AZflats New Member

State:
    Peoria, Arizona
    That's impressive...

Why do you need 50 catfish??? Own a restaurant?

3. Apache Flats

Apache Flats New Member

State:
    Tucson, Az
    You don't really leave with 50 catfish do you? Maybe its just a misprint nobody eats that much fish.

4. AZ RIVERMAN

AZ RIVERMAN New Member

State:
    ARIZONA
    THAT'S A SILLY QUESTION. WHEN YOU HAVE A LARGE FAMILY THE FISH DOESN'T LAST LONG. DON'T YOU ALWAYS TRY TO CATCH YOUR LIMIT? YOU SHOULD IT'S FUN A DELICIOUS.

5. badben345

badben345 New Member

State:
    Arizona
    thats good on you azRiverman! no one will beleive this but, i stopped trout fishing from the guilt. yeah, thats right. i admit it. i am a CNR guy. dont eat fish. but love catchin'em! up in alpine i used to fish the streams up there. but i would only have like 50% live/kill rate. now, i fish for catfish and bass. i dont recall kulling any yet. but yeah, my mum loves to eat her some fried catfish!

ben

6. Apache Flats

Apache Flats New Member

State:
    Tucson, Az
    The point I was trying to make was, did you really take that many catfish "50" home from one trip? I do keep a few of mine also, last year I took home 3 total from the whole year. I mostly CPR mine, my hope is my fishing holes to be productive year in year out.

7. AZflats

AZflats New Member

State:
    Peoria, Arizona