Unwelcome Catch? What to do?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by Jones, Jun 22, 2006.

1. Jones

Jones New Member

State:
    TX
    I've been running trotlines (about once or twice a year) for 25 years. That doesn't add up to a whole lot of fishing, but I enjoy getting out when I can.

So far, I've only caught fish.

I am curious about what some of you guys do when you hook other things (turtles, snakes, gar, etc.). Can someone help me out here before I hook one? :confused2:

Many Thanks,

Jones

2. Wickedbreed

Wickedbreed New Member

State:
    Indiana
    cut the line that hes on....to me id rather lose a hook than a finger!

3. thegavel

thegavel New Member

State:
    West Des Moines, Iowa
    I was once bank fishing and caught a darn muskrat... by the time I reeled in most of my line he/she was pretty angry to say the least, I got as much line back as I could and decided it was a good time to call it a day!

Cut the line and hope for better luck next time!!!

Cheers mate

4. westkybanded

westkybanded New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    As a kid, we used to run trot lines alot in the green river. I can remember turtles, beaver, fish, tires, logs, deer carcas, ect.

5. r_p_narramore

r_p_narramore New Member

State:
    East KY
    If its a turtle I keep it. They're good eating. I once hooked a beaver on a rod&reel. The fellow I was fishing with started to get the net. I told him if he put it in the boat he was going to be wearing the paddle for a hat. I cut my line and let the beaver keep my spoon.

6. catseeman

catseeman New Member

State:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Decisions,decisions,decisions,
    easy answer, If i want to keep the hook i unkook object.
    If i don't want to keep the hook i cut line.

7. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia