Understanding boat horse power

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by tanner, Mar 27, 2006.

1. tanner

tanner New Member

State:
    Somerset, Kentucky
    I'm pretty new to boating. And am in the process of looking at buying a boat. But am a littler concerned about horse power. I don't want to buy something that will take me forever to get someplace and yet I can't spend a fortune. I find some boats that have 10 horsepower. Some that have 50. And some that have 150. I would only be able to afford in the 10-50 range. So my question is how will a 10 horsepower handle in the water as far as speed? Is it not worth my time? Can it be translated to speed? As in "You can expect a top speed of *speed here* with a 10HP motor" Any help with this will be greatly appreciated!

Rock on!

2. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    Tanner, I think we will have to know a few more things about the boat you are trying to push with the engine in question. Mine is a 16ft deep V Fiberglass hull with a 60hp Johnson and it will carry three people at 24 mph. and it will run 30 with just me in it.
    There are alot of variables to consider when buying a motor like, boat weight, boat lenght, hull type, boat weight when loaded w/gear and so on.

3. JimF

JimF New Member

State:
    IL
    I had a 14' alluminium v-bottom it had a 9.9 merc, I took it to the IL river all the time. I will have to say that, if I could of got out and run on the bank I probably could have out run it! It never left me stranded, it always started, but it was sllllllooooow. Don't even ask about when I had two people in the boat.

4. Chanellocked

Chanellocked New Member

State:
    Lake St. Louis, MO
    I run a 16ft Bass Tracker III w/Johnson 50hp, by myself I can run 35mph w/a buddy 30mph, which is plenty fast enough for me. With a 16ft mod-v I wouldn't go with anything less than a 25hp. Good luck in your search:thumbsup:

5. dademoss

dademoss Member

State:
    Ohio
    Tanner,