Ugly Stik Catfish or Penn Slammer?

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by Hummers4, Aug 30, 2008.

1. Hummers4

Hummers4 New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I'm new to catfishing and need advice on selecting rods. I'll be fishing the James River in Virginia and hear countless stories of 40, 50 & 60#+ cats being caught. I like the idea of the durability of Ugly Stiks' 7' MH Catfish rod (white), but a local tackle shop is suggesting a 6'6" H Penn Slammer. Any suggestions? Thanks!

2. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I would suggest the ugly stik tiger, or the ugly stik custom...both are stronger rods than the white catfish rod.

dont know about the penn

3. Fishmaster1203

Fishmaster1203 New Member

State:
    PA
    I like my Ugly Tiger Lite's.

4. waynesburgjay

waynesburgjay New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    The ugly stick catfish might be too light for a 50 or 60#

5. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I agree with Jack on this one. Ugly Stick Tiger series.

6. adamj

adamj New Member

State:
    buckeye land
    IF YOU WANT POWER TO SPARE, AND THE ABILITY TO HANDLE ANY SIZE CATFISH--UGLYSTIK TIGER. THEY RUN ABOUT 70 BUCKS. THE WHITE UGLY STIKS ARE GREAT RODS FOR 5-20LB FISH AND THEY WILL WORK FOR LARGER YOU JUST WONT BE ABLE TO PUT AS MUCH PRESSURE AS THE TIGER. THE FLATHEAD IN MY AVATAR WAS CAUGHT ON A 7FOOT WHITE UGLY STIK.

7. GaryF

GaryF New Member

State:
    O.P., KS
    I agree with the others that the Ugly Stik Catfish is a little tight for fish that size. I've never seen the Penn Slammers, but I know they are a very sturdy rod. Comparable rods in the Ugly Stik line are the Tiger Rods and the Big Water rods, they will handle any catfish that swims in North America.

8. WylieCat

WylieCat Well-Known Member

State:
    NC
    ".....The ugly stick catfish might be too light for a 50 or 60#...."

Bull.

Been there, done that, own the t-shirt.