tryin my luck on the yellow

Discussion in 'FLORIDA RIVERS TALK' started by bigmaac73, Jan 3, 2009.

1. bigmaac73

bigmaac73 Member

State:
    Lenoir City, TN
    Well, even though the river wasn't nice to me at all this past year i aint quittin. I went out the past couple of days and got some shiners from the river, about 1.5 dozen alive and about the same about dead. Then I went out to the bay and got ahold of some finger mullet and some other salt water bait fish. I have never used them before but they sure do have a strong scent. I got the boat all ready and am headin out in just a few hours. I think I am going to try some new spots this time out. Water temp still has not dropped below 55 so I think I am going to stay away from the super deep holes and concentrate on the mid depth and structure. Havn't done this before but someone said to try and get right up on those cypres trees and fish straight down. And also do the same with the structure. Who knows, nothing else has worked. Thats the plan anyway, who knows whats actually gonna happen. I'll get back to ya when I get back this afternoon.

2. weinerdog

weinerdog Member

State:
    Florida
    Any luck yet?

I set some bush hooks out the week of Christmas and made a fair catch. Not great but it was enough for a fish fry. (6 channels about 3-4lbs each) I caught them on the Shoal River about a mile downstream from the Hwy 85 bridge. They were pretty slow to bite so it may be hit or miss if you're fishing rod and reel.

The bass seemed to be in a feeding frenzy. We caught several with nightcrawlers on rod and reel and a few inadvertently on our bush hooks too. They were absolutely devouring the bait and swallowed the hook on each one. (It's a pity 'cause it killed a couple of them before I could get the hook out.)

If you hang in there March will be a better month for cattin. The flatheads start biting then.

3. lendog

lendog New Member

State:
    berks, PA