Try again or not

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by KATTERMAN, Sep 18, 2007.

1. KATTERMAN

KATTERMAN New Member

State:
    OKLA
    dear gents i found a place that is about 10' deep hole with big boulders in it about the size of a washer & dryer then it goes in to a 15' hole which is a good hole for the river i fish then it goes into a flat about 3 to 6' deep for 1/2 mile or so current is running from deep to shollow flat my question is i tried it the other night for 4 hrs without a hit i was fishing in 10' water around boulders thinking it would be a good place for a flat to lay and abush bait oh and above the 10' hole with boulders in is real shollow strong current running
    over a rock shelf then drops of straight up dn into the 10' hole with the boulders how many time would go to a spot like that without getting a hit that u would try somewhere else.any help i would be thankful because i am new to this flathead fishing

2. tofish

tofish New Member

State:
    arizona
    maybe try just above the hole. experience i have is flatties don't really like the real fast running water. may lay down around boulders to rest, but come to start of drop to feed. JMO
    gary

3. stumpjumper

stumpjumper New Member

State:
    Dallas, GA
    Sounds like the river i used to fish in IN....shallow, compared to others. I agree, try placing some baits above the hole, no matter how shallow. Flatheads will move into these shallow areas at night. Can you anchor in a position where you can place baits in shallow and "deep"? Can you fish the breaks where current meets slack? I would for sure fish this hole again.

4. noodlin Will

noodlin Will New Member

State:
    oklahoma