Truman Lake

Discussion in 'MISSOURI LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by MissouriCats, May 26, 2008.

1. MissouriCats

MissouriCats New Member

State:
    Higginsville,Missouri
    I grew up fishing small ponds and the Missouri River but I have been catfishing Truman lake for about two years now and can't seem to have very good luck which has become very frustrating. I've mastered the art of catching channel cats from 1 to 6 lbs. and thats only when I'm fishing for crappie with minnows. I've been trying hard to catch blues and flatheads that amount to some size but with such a large body of water I'm having trouble with where to start. I always put a boat in by Warsaw at the Dam because I camp behind it. If anyone has any tips on where to look for spots to fish let me know. It gets old just picking coves and trying them out every weekend.

2. Catfish Pursuit

Catfish Pursuit New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I'm far from an expert up on Truman but have been able to find some good fish there. Make sure you have FRESH bait, as in just caught shad or bluegill. I like to fish over at KK island near Osage Bluff, and catch tons of blues there. In the evening I anchor in 10-12 feet of water near the island and then cast out on the flats with fresh bait, seems like the cats come up looking for bait and I do pretty well there. Also have good luck drifting baits over the "humps" in front of the island too, let out a bunch of line and let your bait just bump along the bottom, make sure you have a good rod holder or hang on because the hits are hard and fast. I have also caught cats over in the Sterret Creek area fishing the flats. Hope this helps, others that know alot about fishing up on the lake should chime in. Chris

3. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    Welcome Kyle. I only fished below the dam a couple days during the resent gathering. I know one thing, if i ever find a job in Warsaw area, i'm movin. I fell in love with the river.