Trouble with big game fishing line

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by flathunter, Aug 6, 2007.

1. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Guys I have been fishing biggame line for many years and nver had a break off,,,I have had six break offs my last 2 trips..Differnt spools of line and differnet reels, breakoffs with the cast and just reeling in.. this has come on 2 differnt rods and reels that are new so I know it's not the equipment, I am using 30-lb test..I think it's time for a change.

2. CatfishHateMe

CatfishHateMe New Member

State:
    Il
    Well thats great... i just spooled one of my rods with 30 pound Big Game 2 days ago... coulda let me kno a little soonen dont ya think! lol joke but in all seriousness, the rod i just spooled up has been used 2 times in the past 2 days and i like it. my other rod has 40 pound big cat on it and its been some of the best stuff ive ever used. might want to try that if you want a change. but im thinkin that its the same stuff the more i use it. if they were the same dia. then you wouldnt be able to tell differance.

3. kyjake

kyjake New Member

State:
    kentucky
    I don't like Big Game but never had any problems with it's strength or it breaking when it shouldn't.Something is abusing your line.
    Jake

4. Pirate Jerry

Pirate Jerry New Member

State:
    Yulee Florida
    You might want to check your rods line guides, may have a crack or rough spot on one...

5. riverfishinfool

riverfishinfool New Member

State:
    ohio
    I have been using Yo-Zuri line for some time now. 40# test. It cast's great and isnt to expensive. I used to be a fan of big game, but i got a good deal on a big spool of the Yo-Zuri from BPS for cheap. The biggest thing ive noticed about the line is the resistance to freying. Do you use beads between swivel and weight? Keeps weights from hitting knots and weakening them up.. Hope something in here helps you.

good luck

6. Plowboy411

Plowboy411 New Member