Trotlines now a waste of time?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by skipjackking, Mar 12, 2007.

1. skipjackking

skipjackking New Member

State:
    Missouri
    New member here by the way im glad i found this site it is very usefull. So much great info from very wise fisherman. Any who im new at this winter weather catfishing. Im going to a lake in Missouri called Mark Twain Lake, sure some of u have heard of it. Great fishing spring, summer an fall, but im wondering if i have any chance to catch a few good fish on trotlines? Im going this Friday an the water temp will like be in the 40-45 degree range lake is up bout 14 feet an chance of rain Wensday. Is there a certain depth i should be fishing? An what fish would i be more likley to catch, blues, cats, or flats? Any help would be very usefull thanks.

2. ezclip

ezclip New Member

State:
    Arkansas
    My experiance is that it is a little too early for a trotline. Next month you should start doing ok. May and June much better. I have caught a few in March, but have also set one out this time of year and have come up empty.
    Hal...

3. beakus

beakus New Member

State:
    derby kansas
    if you do put put a line try to find some shallows next to deep water with shad.

4. superman

superman New Member

State:
    DeSoto MO
    i have not fished twain i years but in the winter if i set a line i look for the deepest holes i can find and use live bait with some glo in the dark stuff my bassfisherman friend gave me i dont know if the stuff really works but yesterday doing some rod and reel fishing on the mississippi river the pole i used it on was the pole i caught fish on (small channels nothing to brag about)

5. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    If you do, just don't do as this fine outstanding limbliner did:

Attached Files:

6. skipjackking

skipjackking New Member

State:
    Missouri