trotline help

Discussion in 'Alternative Methods of Catching Catfish' started by gatortail, Sep 8, 2009.

1. gatortail

gatortail New Member

State:
    tennessee
    im new at this.is the ones u buy at walmart good or should i build my own and if so how the heck do u tie the leader to yhe main line and make it hold or not slip

2. justwannano

justwannano Active Member

State:
    SE Iowa
    Since you are new at trotlining I suggest you start with the wal mart lines.
    Make sure they are legal in your state.
    for instance
    The wally world lines have 20 hooks. You can only use 15 here in Iowa.
    I haven't been to the library in a while but there are probably instructions on making you own trot line there.
    Have a good 1
    just

3. whiteriver

whiteriver New Member

State:
    in
  4. ~Austin~

~Austin~ New Member

State:
    Texas
    The actual lines are very easy to make. I start with about 20 ft. of tag end and throw a small loop every 3 to 5 feet after that until I have the number of drops I want, then pull another 20 feet or so and cut it off the spool. The drops are a little harder, but not much. I do suggest buying the clips ( made by Magic Bait I think). They do make life easier when unrolling the line and baiting. I start by baiting my drop lines tied to the clips and leave them lined up on one of my bench seats, then unroll my main line and tie it between trees. From that point you can pull yourself along the mainline and attach a baited clip as you get to a loop. Once baited, I pull myself back along the line and attach my weight to sink the thing. If you cant find the clips, Big swivels with clips work almost as well. I also suggest using heavier main line than used on the commercial ones. It's alot more comfortable when pulling your boat aling the line. Hope that helps.

5. Welder

Welder New Member

State:
    Missouri