Trot Lines

Discussion in 'Kayaker and Canoe Fishing' started by ggoytia, Sep 6, 2007.

1. ggoytia

ggoytia New Member

State:
    Texas, Fort Worth
    Would you recommend setting up a trotline off of a kayak. Any suggestions on when to put one I am kinda still kinda new to fresh water fishing and have a lake 6 miles away with some nice cats. Please advise

2. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    I assume you're talking about a fiberglass kayak, right? Cuz I saw a couple of young guys (that I didn't expect to get any older) running some trotlines from a plastic blow-up kayak. I tried to keep an eye on them, expecting to have to rescue them at any time, but somehow they managed to keep from getting a hole in it and sinking. I see no reason why you couldn't run a trotline from a real kayak, but you'd have to make some well thought out plans for landing, handling, and keeping your fish. For instance, how are you going to land a 20# blue? If you try to lift it, you'll turn over, won't you? Maybe some kind of flying gaff so you can just tow it in to shore?

3. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    You may want to consider tieing "Throw Lines" off the bank. Like the gentleman from little rock stated, landing a 20 pounder mite get a bit hairy for ya. I have limblined from a canoe in the deep holes of the creeks here but always felt like i was just one move away from being wet.

4. ggoytia

ggoytia New Member

State:
    Texas, Fort Worth
    Throw lines and Flying gaff? Guys Im sorry for the dumb questions I honestly dont know what these things are. I figured I would beat the head are with a small pipe to stabilize the fish before bringing it onboard.:eek:oooh:

I have a solid plastic kayak not inflatable so no worries there. I would need to get the drill or go extremely fast right into a rock.

Any other suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

5. Catmaster

Catmaster New Member

State:
    SE Kansas