Trolling motor swapout

Discussion in 'Other Repairs' started by 45CATFISH, May 27, 2008.

1. 45CATFISH

45CATFISH New Member

State:
    HENDERSON,LOUISIANA
    I HAVE A 40LB THRUST FOOT CONTROL MINNKOTA EDGE 12 VOLT.I WANT TO GET A LARGER MOTOR WITH HAND CONTROL.MY BATTERY IS LOCATED IN THE REAR OF THE BOAT.DO YOU THINK THE WIRING THAT RUNS FROM THE FRONT TO THE BACK IS LARGE ENOUGHTO GO FROM 12V TO 24V.THE 40LB THRUST IS ONLY 3 MONTHS OLD BUT I WOULD RATHER A HAND CONTROL.ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.THANK'S IN ADVANCE!!!

2. BAM

BAM New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    What size wire, length of boat?What size wire is recommended?

3. 45CATFISH

45CATFISH New Member

State:
    HENDERSON,LOUISIANA
    THE BOAT IS A 18 FOOT X 60IN LAKE SPORT CENTER CONSOLE.I AM NOT GOOD AT JUDGING GAUGES OF WIRE.IT IS WHAT THE MANUFACTURER INSTALLED ORIGINALLY.AS I SAID IT IS ONLY 3 MONTHS OLD.I DON'T HAVE ANY SPECKS ON A 24V SYSTEM.I WAS JUST CONSIDERING MY OPTIONS WHEN I START LOOKING FOR A NEW ONE.

4. cantstopgrandma

cantstopgrandma New Member

State:
    MD
    I'm no electrical engineer, but isn't wire size more a function of the amount of amperage the wire must carry? Usually when you up the voltage, the aperage draw drops (unless you go a whole lot bigger on the trolling motor). I was under the impression thats why your bigger trolling motors are 24v in the first place. I mean, i do realize that too small a wire will cause some voltage drop on a 12v system, but if it was big enough to run the trolling motor in the fisrt place it should work for 24v as long as the new trolling motor doesn't draw more amps.

5. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia