Triple Seven Powder

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by calogan, Dec 3, 2009.

1. calogan

calogan New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I've been hunting black powder for a few years now, and have been using Triple Seven Pellets. The problem is that after one or two shots, the barrel is so fouled that I can't fully seat the next bullet and have to clean out the barrel with a wet patch. Anyone have these problems or know how to fix it? I like the powder otherwise because its so easy to clean the gun afterward.

Thanks!

2. BubbaCat

BubbaCat New Member

State:
    Arizona
    aim better:big_smile:

3. iabowhunter

iabowhunter New Member

State:
    South East Iowa
    I have always pulled the breach plug after the shot and cleaned the barrel even when I'm hunting. I figure that if I only have one shot I'm going to have a clean barrel. It can't hurt.

4. Paraguayguy

Paraguayguy New Member

State:
    Virginia
    777 is good stuff but is dirty. Don't know how to get around that. I used to spit on a patch and run it down the bore between shots. Two years ago I switched to Blackhorn 209. It shoots great, smokes like crazy and easy to clean up and never did clean between shots on the range. I put a new scope on my Encore this year and it took me close to 20 shots to get it dialed in right and difficult loading between shots and accuracy from not cleaning never raised its head. Also and this might be the biggy. I use powerbelts and they are just plain easy to load in my encore. I shoot the 245 grain hollow points and they do a double whammy on deer.:big_smile:

5. Welder

Welder New Member

State:
    Missouri