Tricks to stay warm?

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by freshbaitrules, Nov 23, 2008.

1. freshbaitrules

freshbaitrules New Member

State:
    virginia
    Planning on going the day after Thanksgiving and this will be my first real trip in the cold. I have some warm clothes and I work outside for a living, but I was curious as to the tricks the veterans have learned that can be very helpful on the water.
    Thanx,

2. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    Good rain gear of some sort. Wet clothes of any type even from slingin bait and fish around is not comfortable at all. A pair of goggles or glasses for when ya are movein in the boat also help. Keep the feet warm and wear a good pull over hat. The ones that just expose your face and come down and cover your neck. :wink:

3. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    If I can keep my feet warm Im good to go.

4. fr8dog

fr8dog New Member

State:
    OK
    A good pair of insulated boots that keep your feet warm and dry.

Gloves. A good pair for running, and a few extra wooly ones for when you're fishing. I have a pair of the neoprene ones. They get wet, but still stay reasonably warm.

Dress in layers so you can peel stuff off as the day goes on.

Those little hand warmer packs are worth their weight in gold!!

A thermos of hot coffee and some munchies for calories.

I ALWAYS pack a spare set of clothes, in the truck or boat, just in case!

Oh, also WEAR a PFD and use your kill switch, and have a boarding ladder or quick way to get back in, if you're in a boat. Cold water kills quick!!

5. Paraguayguy

Paraguayguy New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I am nuts for wool clothes. I use wool long underwear, wool pants, wool shirt, wool socks, and a wool scarf my daughter made for me. All this tucked into my columbia insulated hooded coveralls. When I draw down on the hood, it closes to a little slit to see out of. Works well for me

6. misterwhisker

misterwhisker New Member