Treating a deck

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by Phil Washburn, Jun 8, 2009.

1. Phil Washburn

Phil Washburn New Member

State:
    Shawnee OK
    i need to treat my wooden deck. it is covered and about 25ft long. wood floors and rail. i want to paint it, but the wife wants it sealed.

someone tell me the best product for my buck to use please:big_smile:

2. tnvol

tnvol New Member

State:
    Clarksvill
    Thompsons Water Sealer is what I've always used.

3. tyrupp

tyrupp New Member

State:
    Ellis,Kans
    What ever you do don't paint it, unless you like scrapping paint every year and repainting. I have been a painter for 20 years, get a product call cwf uv, they sell it at true value hardware stores. I like their oil base cwf but they have a latex base sealer out now ( I have never used it) . I apply it with a weed sprayer. It lasts for 2 or 3 years and you don't have to scrape before redoing

4. Phil Washburn

Phil Washburn New Member

State:
    Shawnee OK
    thanks, Ty..is CWF better than thompsons?

5. tyrupp

tyrupp New Member

State:
    Ellis,Kans
    They're both good,but I think the cwf makes the water bead up better and lasts a little longer, the price for either one is about the same

6. postbeetle

postbeetle New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Was gonna jump in here Phil but misinterpreted your question. I am dyslexic. Don't have a clue about decks. SRY.

Could give you some help on other types of woodies though. Polishing, staining, treating, waterproofing. Just general stuff.

I am a Dr ya know. Heheh.

7. catfishcentral

catfishcentral New Member

State:
    OK
    Phil,