Transmission!

Discussion in '4X4 Truck Talk and Repairs' started by RiverKing, Mar 2, 2007.

1. RiverKing

RiverKing Active Member

State:
    Yellow Spr
    Well I am experiencing a problem with my truck when i go from a dead stop to 1st gear, it almost feels like im peeling out or something, then it grabs, and everything is fine...Does this sound like the transmission?? Does this sound like something where i would need a whole new tranny or have it rebuilt? Or does it sound like something that is a simpler fix?? I have no experiences with trannies..It only does it from a stop to first,and it seems like it only does it when the engine is cold,and it doesnt do it constantly either. other than that it drives great, no other problems..Need some input guys.

2. dinkbuster1

dinkbuster1 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    your tranny is slipping. its be a bad thing, but sometimes a good fluid change, or coolant flush will help. one thing folks dont realize is you have to change your tranny fluid every few years, not just drive on it till it turns brown:crazy:. a fluid "flush" every 5 years and your tranny will never go out. there are some products at autozone that you can add that might give it a little more longer life. what year and make is your truck? i know of a couple guys who work for tranny shops that re-build them on the side for like around $300. you would have to take it out and take it to them though.

3. RiverKing

RiverKing Active Member

State:
    Yellow Spr
    Its a 96 isuzu rodeo, 4x4 3.2 liter V6

4. dinkbuster1

dinkbuster1 New Member

State:
    Ohio