Trailer tire problem

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by dwreel, Apr 6, 2006.

1. dwreel

dwreel New Member

State:
    Southern Pines, NC
    Both trailer tires are wearing on the inside only. They have about 4000 miles on them. Tires are original that came with rig. Anybody have an idea what I need to do to stop this uneven wear. There is some minor scalaping on the very outside edge of each tire. Tire markings say " max. pressure= 50#. I've been running 38#. Should I go higher ?

Have attached photo. Hope it comes thru.

2. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY
    how heavy is the load? i used to work in a garage and i learned low air pressure can cause the sides of the tires to wear first,too much air causes the middle to wear faster.other than that,i'm at a loss.

3. explayer

explayer New Member

State:
    Tucson AZ
    I would air the tires up to about 45psi

4. copycat

copycat New Member

State:
    New Jersey
    Try higher air pressure and also wheel bearings.

5. Nobody Special

Nobody Special New Member

State:
    TN
    Maybe the axle is bent making the tires out of alignment.

6. screen

screen New Member

State:
    Sterling, Illinois
    John and Mark are right on!

I am next door to a Goodyear store and had him look at the picture! He said run them at 45lbs and measure for alignment - could have a bent axle or flange - Measure between the tires at the sidewall, top, bottom, front and back - there should not be more then 1/4" difference - that will tell you if you need to take it to a machine shop to align - Also if the wear is on the inside of both it most likely the axle or flange but if it inside on one and outside on the other then one side is closer to the front then the other -
    Hope this helps!

7. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    You ain't got enough air in them thar tares.:) I am serious here.

8. Mutt

Mutt Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

State:
    Ca