Total newbie - but hooked...

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by jerryb, Sep 13, 2007.

1. jerryb

jerryb New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Okay, here goes.. the first post is always the hardest, I spoze...

Like someone else who's posted here (sorry, don't remember the name), I used to go fishing when I was a kid with my dad... nothing serious, just put a worm on a hook and throw it in... Since then, I pretty much quit fishing for various reasons - time, age setting in, etc...

Couple of weeks ago went up to Lake Huron with my brother-in-law for a week to do some walleye fishing, and it brought back a lot of memories - all good... Even though he does a lot of fishing, I still managed to bring in the biggest walleye at 22" / 4-5lbs, and man, it felt good!!

Since I've been back from that trip I've had the "bug" - bad. Now I'm going to Knox Lake about 2 - 3 times a week, and so far have managed to grab a couple of 14" channels along with a 24" and a 25" (my personal best - I'd post a pic of it but I can't find the USB cable for my camera :embarassed: )...

After reading a bunch of the posts here and watching the videos - I've decided it would scare the bejeezus outta me to snag onto some of the fish ya'll have caught!

Of course, being the noob that I am, I've got the obligatory stupid questions to ask, so please bear with me...

- Is there really any rhyme or reason to when channels feed? The 24" and 25" channels I caught were in the middle of the afternoon, in sunshine. Yet, I've gone at night, in the evening, in the morning, and gotten zip - 'cept for the li'l ones...