Topwater flatheads

Discussion in 'Outdoor Articles' started by playin4funami, Nov 1, 2009.

1. playin4funami

playin4funami New Member

State:
    Saronville Ne.
    Well some might have heard me mention topwater flathead action before. I fiqured it was time to lay it out for anyone interested,this is still an ongoing trial by fire method for me and I'm still learning myself. Anyway here goes.

A few years ago I was casting early morning topwater and caught a nice flathead,then two casts later another,then about 15 minutes later another flathead smashed my topwater lure. I thought to myself on the way home that it had to be more than just a accident, and was determined to try targeting flatheads with the topwater. Here's what I discovered.
    The first night in question was a hot summer morning just before sunrise with a full moon and no wind over a shallow flat in a bay of a 3000 surface acre lake. The next time I tried it it was a couple days later and that night the target was flatheads,about the only dfference was a 5 to 10 mph breeze blowing and once again I did well,catching 4 flatheads on the topwater popper vs. only one small one on a live bait in the same area. On different nights I found that the topwater worked real well some nights and not at all on others,heres a layout of what worked and what didn't.