TO TRIGGER OR NOT TO TRIGGER

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by Bacardipr05, Feb 16, 2008.

1. Bacardipr05

Bacardipr05 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    Hey guys just want to ask a question about casting rods. I am fairly new to bait casting. Purchasing my first casting rod to practice early fall. It had a pistol grip/trigger on it. I am looking for a new rod. However the three rods that I am looking at none have the pistol grip on it. Would this be problem for a newbie like me or is it better for me to stick with the pistol grips.

2. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    Get the one with the trigger. It just sets in your hand better and gives ya more control.

3. nicdicarlo

nicdicarlo New Member

State:
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvani
    Bacardi,
    When using larger style reels like 7000s, or even with 6500s, I don't think the trigger makes much of a difference. When you are fighting fish, your hand will be on the foregrip anyway, not palming the reel. The only time you will grip the trigger is when casting, as far as I'm concerned. That being said, the two cat rods I have both have triggers, but I really don't see much of a use for them. For something like bass fishing, this is a totally different story. You palm the smaller reel while gripping the trigger while working lures. It gives you a better grip and better control. Just my opinion. What rods are you looking at?

4. Bacardipr05

Bacardipr05 New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    Thanks for the input guys. Seems like the all the rods I am looking at don't have the trigger on them.

5. FATFLATTIE

FATFLATTIE New Member

State:
    ILM, NC