to shoot or not? too late now.

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by baitchunker, Jan 14, 2008.

1. baitchunker

baitchunker New Member

State:
    alabama
    the rut is in full swing now. i watched countless lil to medium bucks chasing does. noses to the ground running in circles, fllat out running them down. it was quite a sight to behold this last weekend. but, i have been holding out for a breathtaker buck. i had an easy good shot on a pretty heavy 8-point saturday morning. we had a staring contest for about 45 minutes. i studied his rack. his belly was sagging a lil bit, he was prolly a 4-4.5 year old deer. his horns were thick and dark, very very tall rack. but, only about 15 inches wide. he was a nice buck and a shooter for sure. but, i promised myself that the next buck i shoot is going on the wall, and he just wasnt the one i wanted. that is, untill he slowly stepped out of sight. i immidiately questioned my judgment. you cant pull a bullet back, but you cant kill thin air either. we have much bigger bucks on the property. some that would score, and have scored in the 150-160 range. with inside spreads up to 22.5 inches. of course they dont make as many mistakes as the younger deer. in south alabama, the buck i let walk was admirable. he just wasnt spectacular.

my questions for yall are simple. with hunting season winding down (finally) should i have taken him? have any of yall ever second guessed the decision to shoot? or not to shoot?

2. 1sporticus

1sporticus Active Member

State:
    Iowa
    It's a hard decision, but in all reality if you wanted a big buck, and you don't need the meat, hold out for what you want. Later Andy

3. Arkansascatman777

Arkansascatman777 New Member

State:
    AR