To circle or not to circle that is the question...

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by veryama1975, Jan 24, 2008.

1. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    I'm new to the BOC but ever since I joined I've heard a lot about circle hooks. From what I've read in a member article here it seems that with circle hooks you don't "set the hook." That you are actually more likely to lose the cat if you try to set the hook. Instead you leave your clutch engaged(not in free spool) & then wait for the cat to load up the rod & hook itself.

When not using circle hooks, you leave your rod in free spool & turn on the clicker. When a cat takes it you let it run a little & then set the hook, right?

What hooks are best when you are not using the "hands off circle hook method?" Are octopus hooks used the same way as circle hooks or should you set the hook with them?

What method will generally get you more cats: the hands off circle hook method or the free spool, clicker, then set the hook method?

Thanks everybody for the help!

2. alton

alton New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I have been using circle hooks for the last 2 years and will never use any other type hook. I only bank fish in the Mississippi around the dam here in Alton IL. I kind of understand the "setting the hook" concerns, but I will assure you when my 12' rods start diving with a 5# to 50# fish, the fish is on. Fishing from a boat may be a different story.
    The main reason I like the circle hooks is because I release all fish. So far 100% of the fish I have caught have had a perfect corner mouth hookset.
    The fish gets released with no harm. I use the octopus circles. Good luck to you.

3. catfishscotty

catfishscotty Well-Known Member

State:
    mo