tips

Discussion in 'Trout Fishing' started by hawgmaster, Nov 24, 2009.

1. hawgmaster

hawgmaster New Member

State:
    SE columbu
    this is my first year for fishing for trout and have went a few time but never caught anything. i was useing corn and meal worms for bait. does anyone have any tips as what else to use and what kind of things to look for to target them? any tips and tricks to the trade would be greatly welcomed!

2. puddle jumper

puddle jumper Well-Known Member

State:
    NW.Georgia
    Hey Chris,
    Think of trout fishing like you do catfishing but on a smaller scale, look for eddy pockets behind rocks, any kind of structure where they can hide out and ambush pray that floats by, I always have better luck in the fast moving water,seems like the fish have to grab it quick and dont have time to examine it like they do in slow water,,

As for what to use get a light to med spinning rod " I dont fly fish" about 5 1/2' to 6' with 6lb test and buy a bunch of different color rooster tails 1/16th and 1/8th with gold or silver spoons "no painted spoons" green, white, yellow, bodys are some of my favorits,

Start to cast in the areas above early in the morning and right at dark are best, if the water is deeper add a split shot about foot above the lure so it will get down,, and think of working a river like you would sneek up on a deer slow and quiet,, and I always like to work my way up river,and cast to the pockets and fan cast across the river, and one more thing kind of like catfishing, if your not loosing lures you probably are not fishing in the right spot,:confused2:

Hope that helps bro,,
    Good luck...:cool2:
    Puddle

3. stoney53

stoney53 Well-Known Member

State:
    PA
    berkley power bait (chartruese) and red/white dare devil spoon been working great all year for me...slowin down somewhat this time of year but still doin ok with the above

4. rwg

rwg New Member

State:
    WICHITA, KANSAS