Tips on first time turkey hunting

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by CatfishHateMe, Apr 7, 2007.

1. CatfishHateMe

CatfishHateMe New Member

State:
    Il
    This is my first time turkey hunting this year and i still have some time to prepair (April 25th i believe) until the season. so i need some tips from you seasoned hunters out there. i have a 12 ga. remington 870 with a full choke tube. not sure what kind of pattern i can hold until i go out tomorro to check that out and see what kind of range im good for. ive got a Primos diaphrame mouth call that i am pretty confident with cuz ive been using it like crazy latly practiceing. ive got a crow call to use for a locator. right now ive only got one hen fold up decoy. what other decoys should i get if any? where should i set up at? how should i hunt the first weekend? how should i hunt later in the season? ive been told the turkeys change alot as its gets deeper in the season about like deer do. so any tips would be appriceiated.

2. bluesclues

bluesclues New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Roost your birds every night and be patient have a good seat.:0a23:

3. Bullseye017

Bullseye017 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Keep an eye out for ticks........and dont get frustrated when the turkeys dont seem to be coming in. Persistance is the key

4. huntsfromtree

huntsfromtree New Member

State:
    KC Northland
    As memtioned above, roost the bird...then dont over call!
    Good luck

5. Scott Daw

Scott Daw New Member

State:
    Allentown, Pennsylvania
    Ive only been hunting turkey for a few years now and the main reason I havent tagged one yet is patience. I get up to soon thinking the bird I just spent how long calling in got hung up or found a real hen only to find he's on silent approach to avoid competition and I spook him to the next county when I stand up and walk a short distance! Other then that all I can say is try to roost them and try not to move around to much.

6. Blue Duck