Tips on catching big blue catfish?

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by OklahomaFever, Jun 6, 2007.

1. OklahomaFever

OklahomaFever New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I need a few tips on catching big blues? I use 9/0 stainless kahle....but really havent landed anything to brag about a few 20's.... What would you say would be the idle bait in a fast flowing river? A whole shad.. a cut shad? i understand big bait = big fish... just need a lil help from the pros :) thanks

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I'm not a pro . I would suggest useing skipjack heads. If you have skipjack in your area. Continued fresh bait is important.:lol::big_smile:

3. OklahomaFever

OklahomaFever New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    i have freshwater herring in my area just extremely hard to catch...i guess shad would be my best bet?

4. Arkie55

Arkie55 New Member

State:
    Mississippi