Tips for cleaning a reel!

Discussion in 'Reel Repair and Upgrades' started by Nobody Special, Mar 1, 2006.

1. Nobody Special

Nobody Special New Member

State:
    TN
    I'm no expert, but I have picked up on a few little things over the years that I would like to share.

Always buy your reels in pairs. That way, if you end up with a bunch of leftover parts when you clean your reel, you can take the other one apart and see where they are supposed to go.

Lay everything on a towel. Parts don't bounce when they hit a soft towel. If you're hard of seeing, use a white towel so you can locate all the parts easier.

When you take a reel apart, lay the pieces in a line in the order you took it apart.

Use screwdrivers that fit the screws properly so you don't mess up the slots.

2. catsmith1

catsmith1 New Member

State:
    Haughton, Louisiana
    Good advise! I still have not made the ag6000 bait click since I first cleaned it. Everything else works great!

3. RIP

RIP New Member

State:
    Somerville, Tennessee
    Good info Grumpy, great post.

4. tncatfishing

tncatfishing New Member

State:
    clk. tn
    I like to use a big metal cooking pan ( like for baking cookies) to clean my reels in that way you don't loose anything.

5. Cornhusker

Cornhusker New Member

State:
    Lancaster, Ohio
    Good post Grumpy. Mind if I add a couple of things?

- A small dab of grease on the screw driver blade will hold those small screws on the screw driver so you can get them started in the hole.

- To get the line on the spool lined up with the level wind, strip off line until it is all the way to the side of the spool. Hold the spool and loosen the level wind pawl screw to let the line guide slide all the way to the side of the spool with the line and tighten the screw back up.