Tips for a Newbie

Discussion in 'Kayaker and Canoe Fishing' started by Carson94, Feb 11, 2018.

1. Carson94

Carson94 New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Name:
    Carson
    Just bought my first kayak Friday, I want to try and hit the water for the first time Monday or Wednesday. I know the standard is the sit on top kayaks but I got a sit in Kayak that was hardly used for 150$ when it runs for 600-700, as a broke college student I couldn't refuse. Has a few nice rod holders in the back and decent space to customize over the next few years.

I'm looking for any tips for a newbie like me. Literally anything will be of use.

Zigarro and Catpaw like this.
  2. MattTheFlatCatKid

MattTheFlatCatKid Well-Known Member

State:
    Ohio
    Name:
    Matthew Moore

3. twaskom

twaskom Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    Indiana
    Name:
    Tom
    Carson, your should have some fun catching catfish in your kayak. And Welcome to the USCA forum. I can't help you with much as far as a kayak goes but I will say cold water can get you in trouble quick so find out what the water temperature is before you go out.

Now, the best information I can give as far as cat fishing from a kayak would be to tell you to watch the "Kayak Catfish" youtube videos. Justin has quite a few really good videos and knows more about kayak fishing than anyone I know. His most recent (I think) is about hypothermia and he keeps a complete set of dry close and a towel in a waterproof container with him at all times.

Go into your profile and add your first name so it shows in your information section like mine. The forum has a few giveaways during the year and you will need your name added to be able to participate.

When you get a chance, tell us what type of water you plan to fish. Lakes or rivers and is there current if your fishing rivers. Then let us know what type of cat fishing you plan to do. That will help us recommend what type of gear and bait you should be trying.