Tight line vs Slack line?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by kickflip484, Jun 17, 2008.

1. kickflip484

kickflip484 New Member

State:
    Ohio/Virginia
    Hi there all, im new to the catfish1 websight and so far i love it. I've been river fishing all my life and the way i was taught was to throw on some sinkers a worm, cast, reel in till the line is taught and when a bite come, jerk up and set the hook. But that was for catching whatever bit. Now i want to start catching some big cats. So what i was wondering is how everyone sets their line waiting for a cat to bite. I also would like to know if you let the fish swallow the hook, or do you set the hook as soon as you get a bite. Thank you for your help.

Jeremy

2. adam1886

adam1886 New Member

State:
    higginsville,missouri
    welcome to the site jeremy. i think whether you keep the line tight or slack is all personal preference. as far as when to set the hook, when we used kahle hooks we always waited for the fish to "take it". thats when they just grab on and really take it down and you know they got it in thier mouths. now we used circle hooks and the fish basically sets the hook themselfs without us setting the hook and they take some getting used to. hope this helps some

3. Kerplunkd

Kerplunkd New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    As long as that catfish likes whats on your hook, he could care less whether or not your line is tight. That answers the hook set question too. The fish will pretty much hook itself when it hauls ass with that prime choice bait.

4. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    welcome aboard adam and jeremy! in current i always tightline. in calm water with cutbait i will slack the line up a bit. that way when they run, the circle punches through the corner of the mouth no problem. better have a hold of your rod or a good rod holder doing it like this though.

5. kickflip484

kickflip484 New Member

State:
    Ohio/Virginia