Tides which is best

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by jwfish, Oct 24, 2006.

1. jwfish

jwfish New Member

State:
    columbus ohio
    Which tide is the best to fish ,a incoming high tide or a out going and how many hours before the tide change should you fish,thanks for any help jerry

2. Tinboat

Tinboat New Member

State:
    Jonesboro, Arkansas
    I caught more fish on the incoming tide, very few during the slack tide and a few on the outgoing tide.

3. jwfish

jwfish New Member

State:
    columbus ohio
    Thanks for the info Tinboat I have only fished a tidel river once and it was the james river.The fish I caught were mostly on the start of a out going tide but I beleave that was just the way the hole I was fishing was set up.I did catch a few on the incoming.

4. Paraguayguy

Paraguayguy New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I live in Richmond and fish the James 5 or 6 times a year. I am no expert for sure but do catch more Bluecats and Stripers on the outgoing. My biggest two came during incoming. Go figure. Like you said, It probably varies in the hole or structure. James has unbelievably fast moving tides both ways.

5. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
  6. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    High and low tides go along with major and minor feeding periods. Check solunar schedules and you'll see. High and low pressure fronts play a part in this also.

This works for most all species of animals. Saw a huge buck in the nieghborhood a couple weeks ago. It was at low tide/minor solunar feeding period.

I also have been caught in storms were the barometric pressure dropped drasticly. The kingfish bite went nuts.

When it all comes together and you've got good bait presentation, you catch good fish.

7. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC