Throw Nets

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by Mizzbigcat, May 29, 2008.

1. Mizzbigcat

Mizzbigcat New Member

State:
    Warren County Ohio
    I normally catch my bait the old fashioned way (by paying my daughter a nickel a piece for bluegill) but alot of times she'll just catch me enough to use for that particular outing.

I live about 1/4 mile from the lake, which is right now swarming with shad.

I mentioned to Jeff (BF) that I would like to take a throw net (his, lol) and stock up on some shad, since I have a huge bait fridge freezer in the garage running and empty.

I've never used a throw net before, but he made it out to be some complex thing that I could never figure out without him taking me out into the yard to practice a few times.

I've been asking him to do this since the begining of April, to no avail, and I don't like to nag.

My oldest son Jacob can do it, and he's a little spacey ya know, so my question for ya'll is how hard can it be?

Do you think I can take it out front and teach myself?

Also, are there any tips or pointers you want to share with me?

Any and all help will be truly appreciated.

Thanks Brothers and Sisters, ya'll ROCK!

:cool2:

2. neocats

neocats New Member

State:
    Steubenvil

3. Baitkiller

Baitkiller New Member

State:
    Akron, Ohio
    Ist off get two...LOL!! They r easy to lose Mizz.

Wallmart n a 5 ft radius mono would b a good start.

Plz note Mizz fresh is best for the Flats.

:0a26:

When the Shad spawn it is in 1-1 1/2 ft of water @ 62 degrees.

:big_smile:

4. Mizzbigcat

Mizzbigcat New Member

State:
    Warren County Ohio

Jeff, you are like a walking library. Whatever we need, you're right there with the link. I appreciate that brother!

5. Mizzbigcat

Mizzbigcat New Member

State:
    Warren County Ohio
    Yeah, I hear they're easy to lose. We have several of them around here.