The Mighty Wisconsin River

Discussion in 'WISCONSIN RIVER TALK' started by amjfedex, Aug 5, 2007.

1. amjfedex

amjfedex New Member

State:
    Wisconsin
    I am somewhat new to catfishing but I have been fishing at lot on the wisconsin river around stevens point and Mosinee. I have mastered cathing those little channel cats with minnows and night crawlers but I have yet to figure out how to get those big bruisers. Do anyone else have knowledge of this area?

2. hooked_on_catfish

hooked_on_catfish New Member

State:
    Wisconsin
    I heard that the flathead populations has picked up around the mosinee dam. I myself am new to catfishing the big boys and have never fished the mosinee myself however there are reports of fish being pulled out in the 20# range often.

Really the only advice I can give you is tinker around until you can locate some holes and drop offs. Live bait is a must for the flats and you can either catch your own...Bullheads if avaliable are a good choice as they are easy to keep alive and are probably the main food source for flats as they are abundant in the wisconsin river. Other than that for a night of fishing pick up about a dozen 6-9inch suckers.

The rig you will need is a 1oz slip sinker on the main line then tie on a barrel swivel (heavy duty) then tie on a 12-18 inch leader, then tie on your hook (5/0 to 8/0 heavy duty stainless steel) Hook the sucker through the upper lip just enough to ensure the sucker will not get away.

If you use caught bullheads, hook the same way but cut off the top barb at the base. This does not cause the fish to die but leaves a good blood trail for the flats to lock onto.

Best advice would be to get a good amount of sleep then head out at a half hour before dust and fish until first light. You will be able to cover any peak bite times that way and you will be able to narrow down a good time for your next trip without spending all night out there next time.