The letter.

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by sal_jr, Jan 30, 2006.

1. sal_jr

sal_jr New Member

State:
    Ithaca, MI
    Friday night I got a phone call from my grandfather. There was a letter for me at his house. Nothing new... I get em all the time there cause I lived there during college. He said he would slip in in my sister's car down the road- he knew I'd be seeing her saturday at my parents' cabin. The next day my sis tossed the letter to me and said "Getting ready to go back for another class?"

"Nah, I replied, but I gotta see what they are offering." totally thinking the letter inocuous.

It looked like any stock envelope from the alumni association. I half expected that the department I got my degree from may have accidentally sent me a course schedule, knowing fully well I am through with all they had to offer for 5 years now. Part of me wondered if it was a paper for their annual beg-a-thon, as is the practice for most alumni associations. My wife and I were not planning on giving. I opened the letter to see what is is they wanted.... more specifically how much.

The first line destroyed a part of me... a big part. It read, "On January 13, 2006, Professor Robin Hough passed away from non-hodgekins Lymphoma." My heart sunk. I gasped and threw the letter from my hands as though I had picked up a red coal from a campfire.... The only words that came to mind and lips were "Oh Jesus!". I never finished the rest of the letter. I just picked it back up and handed it to my wife and listened to her sob as she sat in the back seat of our explorer as I drove. I still havent looked at the rest of the letter.