The legality of cast nets

Discussion in 'LOCAL NORTH CAROLINA TALK' started by Bryan8552, Mar 19, 2007.

1. Bryan8552

Bryan8552 New Member

State:
    nc
    Somebody please clear this up for me. In reading the 06-07 NC Regulations Digest it seems to plainly say that it's perfectly legal to use a cast net at Kerr Lake. It also seems to plainly say that it's illegal to use one at Falls of Neuse Reservoir in Wake county. I was checking these places because it's mainly where we fish. Out of curiosity I continued checking other counties and determined (all of this to the best of my ability, and trust me I'm no lawyer), that it's illegal to use a cast net in any of the following counties: Catawba, Chatham, Davidson, Iredell, Lincoln, Mcklenburg, Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly Counties. If this is right it would be illegal to throw one at Lake Norman, Tillery, High Rock, Baden, Tuckertown, Falls (Stanly County) and possibly a few others. As best I can tell there is actually very few places in the state where you can legally use a cast net. As a matter of fact, out of all the places I checked, the Kerr Lake area was the only place where it seems to be legal.

Am I reading this thing right?

2. riddleofsteel

riddleofsteel New Member

State:
    NC
    "Taking Nongame Fish for Bait
     Nongame fishes or other aquatic animals taken for bait may
    not be sold.
     Nongame fish may be taken for bait only with the equipment
    listed below, and an appropriate inland fishing license is required.
    1. A dip net not greater than 6 feet across.
    2. A seine not greater than 12 feet in length with a bar mesh
    measure of not more than 1/4 inch.
    Exception: In Lake Waccamaw any length seine may be used
    to collect bait fishes.
    3. A cast net.
    4. Minnow traps under immediate control and attendance of the
    operator and not exceeding 12 inches in diameter, with
    funnel openings not exceeding 1 inch in diameter.