Thawed VS Freshly Caught - Bluegill for flathead catfish bait

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Ravensmavsfan, Dec 21, 2005.

1. Ravensmavsfan

Ravensmavsfan New Member

State:
    Cincinnati,OH
    Do thawed out but fresh (kind of fresh) bluegill work at all? Or do they have to be freshly killed and cut?
    I want to use some thawed bluegill for flathead bait this weekend, but i've never tried thawed out bluegill cut bait before.
    Mabye I should just catch some bluegill while i'm at the lake,and then cut them.

2. dinkbuster1

dinkbuster1 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    if your in ohio dont even bother with the flats unless your at a warmwater outlet! but if your intent on it and you can get freshly caught gill id stick with them. i honestly have never tried frozen gills.

3. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Fresh is always best..but if all you have is thawed out might as well give them a try..I dont think the flats are hitting in ohio right now..water is to cold.

4. Thomas P. Conley

Thomas P. Conley New Member

State:
    Copperas Cove,TX.
    I've found that using frozen Bluegills you end up with a soggy fish and one that doesn't hold well on the hook. It's really not all that hard to catch a few fresh gills and use them instead or goldfish, minnows,shad. In the spring I use cut frozen shad which I buy from a local bait outlet which works well on my lines. At least the price is well worth it for I can run a 25 hook line for about $2.00's

5. Ravensmavsfan

Ravensmavsfan New Member

State:
    Cincinnati,OH
    I usually don't fish for flats, so i'm unexpirenced. But i figured they would bite this weekend because its been in the 20's for a while and its going up to the mid to high 40's. So i figured they be biting from the sudden warm weather.

6. Thomas P. Conley

State:
    Copperas Cove,TX.
    Well if you can get out for the Christmas weekend your doing well.

7. Thomas P. Conley

State:
    Copperas Cove,TX.