tempermental outboard

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by sambo, Nov 4, 2007.

1. sambo

sambo New Member

State:
    alabama
    :confused2: hi im new to the brotherhood i was hoping someone out there could lend me some advice. Irecently purchased a pontoon boat that has an 88 hp evinrude outboard . my problem is when i accelerate to wide open throttle the motor dies. this is the only time this happens , the motor runs fine until i accelerate to wide open throttle. if anyone out there knows what could possibly cause this please respond

2. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    There are a number of things that can cause that. The timing advance could be hanging and the advance circuitery in the fireing system could be bad.
    You need to get a manuel and do the system check described in the manuel.

3. sambo

sambo New Member

State:
    alabama
    Thanks bubbakat i have a manual but it doesnt cover my year motor and it is almost easier to learn to do open heart surgery than to understand what the manual is saying . do you have any suggestions on an easy to understand manual:eek:oooh:

4. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    I use only shop manuels for each specfied motor myself but you are looking at 150 to 200 dollar manuels. I do have a couple seloc and clymer manuels but to me I like the seloc best but they are written with the thought that you have some knowledge of you engne.
    Now describe to me excatly to a T what thet engine is doing and what it sounds and acts like when it shuts down.
    The first thing I would recommend doing is a compression check and a spark test.