Tahlequah Catfish!

Discussion in 'LOCAL OKLAHOMA TALK' started by Kalvinc, Aug 2, 2009.

1. Kalvinc

Kalvinc New Member

State:
    Russellville, AR
    I was born in Grove, OK and moved to Mena, AR in 4th grade. In 9th grade we moved to Idabel, OK and I graduated high school. I just moved to Russellville for college and they are out of housing so it is going to cost me a crapload for an apartment. My mom just got transferred to Tahlequah, OK and I am thinking about moving back there and attenting NSU. My question to you guys is, is there any catfishing (small streams/creeks/Illinois River) in the immediate surroundings of Tahlequah?

2. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla
    We have Lake Tenkiller, Lake Ft Gibson, Lake Green leaf, Lake Hudson and 3 rivers all within a 1 hr drive. The Illinois is OK during the week for channels, to many floaters on it on the weekends. Tenkiller and Ft Gibson have several places to fish from the bank. More places to fish than you will have time. LOL

3. LazyBum

LazyBum New Member

State:
    East Tulsa, Okl
    Does Tenkiller dam have any action there? I have fished the lake, but not the dam... I think my buddy and I was at Cookson when we camped there and fished.

4. Dirtdobber

State:
    Vian Okla
    You have to have a trout licence to fish below Tenkiller. When they have had the water on for a long time stripers sometimes move in. If you like to catch Buffalo and Carp there are plenty.

5. LazyBum

LazyBum New Member

State:
    East Tulsa, Okl
    awwww, so I take it there is trout there? My gf is from Denver, and she likes trout fishing

6. Dirtdobber

State:
    Vian Okla
    They catch a lot of trout down there. I have only fish for trout one time there because I wanted them for bait for big strippers.

7. Kalvinc

Kalvinc New Member

State:
    Russellville, AR
    Any catfishing with 10 minute drive?

8. fox9988

fox9988 Member

State:
    Lincoln,NW Arkansas
    Name:
    Forrest