Tackle box basics?

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by nralover, Mar 10, 2009.

1. nralover

nralover New Member

State:
    Festus, Missouri
    Guys, it has come time for me to assemble a dedicated catfish box. The bass box has no room and the panfish box is too small. I am still a newbie to catfishing, so I would like to enlist your advice on the necessary terminal tackle for catfishing. I have access to the Mississippi, Meremac and Big rivers in Missouri, as well as some lakes and ponds. So I need the bare bones stuff for everything from 2 pound channel cats up to the flatheads and such. What does it take to get me started?

2. arkrivercatman

arkrivercatman New Member

State:
    KS
    Pretty simple.
    Whatever hooks you choose, from 2/0 to 8-10/O, or bigger. I prefer Kahles but alot of people like Circles.
    You will need some BIG sinkers if you plan on fishin the MO or the MS. Minimum of 6 or 8 up to 16 ozs, or more. I like the banks, flat banks and No Rolls. You might seriously consider pouring your own.
    Of course ponds dont require near the lead. 1-3 oz is usually plenty.
    Swivels if you use want to use them.
    Thats pretty much it. Some beads to protect the knot and some stop knots if you want to fish with a slip float.

3. BIG_D

BIG_D New Member

State:
    Batchtown IL.
    Jay - Kyle pretty much hit the nail on the head i just wanted to add i us the little clear boxes to keep my stuff in set one up for lake pond fishing and one for river fishing that way you can grab the one you need and are not luging all that wait thats not needed thoes big sinkers get heavy quick

4. BassMassey

BassMassey Well-Known Member

State:
    Oconee
    and don't forget a cutbait knive, some scissors, and needlenose.....

5. alton

alton New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I usually carry a small backpack with as little as possible in it.
    I use small tupperware containers (the wife has a million of them)